The traditional end of season bash took place at the clubhouse last Friday, with much swankiness and glamour on display, and that was just from the Gentlemen’s Second Team.

Dougie ended his term of office as president with a moving speech about his bladder issues, as well as covering all of the season’s major events and achievements, and handing out thanks and gratitude to all. Beth revealed herself as something of a raffle ninja, getting through dozens and dozens of prizes in an astonishingly short time, and despite the fact that the Ukrainian cognac kept reappearing on the table of prizes yet to be awarded. The non-alcoholic mulled wine, now long past its sell-by date, reappeared for the fourth year running.

Most importantly, this year’s gongs were handed out to worthy winners, and the awards ceremony was full of the usual gushing acceptance speeches and streams of running mascara (that was the Gentlemen’s Second Team again).

Winners this year were as follows:

Most valuable player
FirstsGrant OgilvieAmy Weatherup
SecondsJames FennaJoanne Pearson
Top gun
FirstsGrant OgilvieVicky Carver
SecondsDouglas Ogilvie Wendy Symington
Players' player
FirstsLachlan ScottAlice Lamont
SecondsAndrew MontfordShona Graham
Most improved playerJoe JenningsFiona Rae
Young player of the yearBen VollandNikki Dall
President's awardSusie McIntyre

Here is a photo featuring some of the winners, and also a few people who just wanted their photos taken.


Special thanks to Vicky Carver for organising everything so beautifully.

Same time next year?